boysenberry crisp

Standard

We have these wonderful thornless boysenberry bushes in our yard, and every year when the berries are ripe, my favorite thing to make is my boysenberry crisp.  (After we graze on the fresh berries as we pick them, of course!)
So today I am going to share my recipe.  It is super easy, and very yummy!  I always get lots of compliments when I bring this dessert to share.

Boysenberry Crisp

  • 1-1/2 cups boysenberries (though I often use even more!)
  • 2 TBS granulated sugar
  • 2 TBS butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg

You could toss the 2 TBS sugar with the berries ahead of time, but I usually skip that step and just dump the berries in my lightly greased cooking pan, then sprinkle the sugar on top.  I don’t even stir it up.  Like I said, I usually use extra berries, enough to cover the bottom of the pan with at least a double layer.  But then we have an abundance of berries to use!  I never increase the sugar, but you can see that it covers sufficiently as is.  Perhaps you may even want to decrease the sugar if you use less berries.  Then I dot 2 TBS of butter on top.

The next part does need to be done in a separate bowl.  Mix the last four ingredients with a fork, until it resembles course crumbs.

I always mix it a little long than I think I should.  You’ll be amazed at how crunchy this topping is!  Just dump it on top of the berries in your pan and pop it in a preheated 350 degree oven.

Bake for 30 minutes.  You can serve it warm with whipped cream or ice cream, but I like it plain, hot or cold.  It is sooooo good!  It’s undoubtedly the fresh berries that are the highlight, but I think the crispy topping complements the berries perfectly.  I also think you could substitute any berries (or combination of berries) you wish.

I completely forgot to take a picture of the dessert when it came out of the oven, but here it is just a little while later after my family (and in-laws) had a serving.  At least they saved me a row to show what it looks like!

Leave a Reply

